No, it doesn’t hurt.

Today, I introduced my self to my mother.

“your mother must be so proud”

she says as I tell her I am a lawyer now.

I tell her the names of the kids in the picture on her bed post.

And that this is home now.

She nods and lets it sink in.

She asks about her son and why he never comes home.

Brother is a congress man now,

he hasn’t called in 4 years,

I cant tell her that.

She is a disease his career must never catch.

I am telling her about his new appointment.

 

“Who are you?”

she asks.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

